Redemption! Guest Post by Steve Muscato

Posted on March 30, 2012

0


A car being loaded onto a flatbed tow truck

A car being loaded onto a flatbed tow truck (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Our God is truly a God of second chances.  

I previously wrote how I turned by back on Jesus when I chose not to help someone who was in need at an accident.  Instead of instinctively acting – excited at the chance to demonstrate God’s love for others – I chose to flee and let someone else take my place.  

In my prayers that day, I prayed that God would forgive me and if someday He put me to the test again, I would act.  I would demonstrate His love for me by helping others.  

Knowing that God hears all prayers, I knew that someday He would place me in the path of someone in need.  That day happened just 10 days later. 

While driving from store to store looking for Christmas gifts in December, my wife and I came upon a car blocking traffic in a left turn lane.  People, annoyed by the inconvenience of missing their light because of the stalled car, were inching around to avoid the car.  I instantly knew that this opportunity was meant for me.  

I put on my hazard lights and parked – ensuring a safe distance between the impatient cars and the stalled car.  As I got out, I noticed for the first time that day how cold it was.  My breath created a heavy fog as I asked the older gentlemen what was going on.  His smile was warm as he explained that his car just stalled as he was about to enter the intersection. 

His name was Gene.  

I tried to help Gene get his car started but it was of no use.  The car was dead.  He told me that AAA was on their way but it may take up to an hour.  There was nothing to do but wait.  We invited Gene into our car where we could wait together in the warmth and safety of our car while the angry traffic merged around us.  

For 30 minutes, we talked about cars, the economy, the president and the time passed quickly until the sheriff came and helped us push his car across four lanes of traffic to the side of the road so the tow truck could easily take his car away and the people could get back to their day.  

No emergency CPR was needed or jaws of life required for Gene that day.  Just a couple of people hanging out talking about life waiting for the tow truck.  But as I listened to a story about when Gene was a younger man, it occurred to me that sometimes all we really need is a chance to stop…and connect with someone.  And God gave me a second chance.  

He does that a lot.  He always has. 

Taking a look at my favorite man from the bible– Peter, we see him in Mark, Chapter 16 where the verse says “But go, tell his disciples and Peter, ‘He is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him, just as he told you.’”

What this line tells me is that even though Peter had blown it before, when it was time to include the disciples, Jesus made sure to include Peter in a great demonstration of forgiveness, trust and redemption.  What a line. It’s as if all of heaven had watched Peter fall—and it’s as if all of heaven wanted to help him back up again. “Be sure and tell Peter that he’s not left out. Tell him that one failure doesn’t make a flop.”

God knew my heart was still heavy from leaving the accident a few days earlier. While I knew that I was forgiven, God knew that, for me, true healing would best come from redemption. 

Steve Muscato is the National Brand Manager for Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC where he directs the company’s social media networks, leads the company’s corporate cause initiatives and manages the brand strategy for 2,200 retail stores across the country.  He is also an active Christian who relies on God’s word to light his path through corporate America.  Steve welcomes new connections through LinkedIn To read his blog, click here 
Posted in: March 2012