God Grant Me Patience – Be Careful What You Wish For!

Posted on January 31, 2011

0


Sport in childhood. Association football, show...

Image via Wikipedia

 

God is helping me to work on my patience. I’ve prayed about this and need to be careful what I ask for! I volunteered to help coach my daughter’s soccer team and have had to learn how to deal with a bunch of screaming, energetic 7-year olds. I got upset with one girl who was a bit mouthy and distracted by her friend who was playing on a basketball court nearby. She was more interested in seeing what he was doing instead of playing soccer. I took this as being a bit disrespectful.

She forgot her water bottle inside the school and when I took her to get it, she introduced me to her friend. It turns out that this boy has special needs and she has a heart for making sure he is included and comfortable. Surely that is more important work than learning how to play soccer. Boy was this a smack upside the head!

I learned that God works in layers. There are so many things going on that we have no idea about, but He is working. I learned that I need to ask questions of 7-year old girls and show that I care before they’ll pay attention to what I want them to do. It’s tough for me to actually slow down sometimes and let the adreanaline subside.

My advice to others who experience this is to slow down and breathe. Ask questions and take the time to see things from others’ points of view. Doing this will help us to gain better perspective on what God wants, not just what we want.

 

 

Posted in: January 2011