Mac n Cheese & Second Chances

Posted on January 7, 2011

2


By now, most of us have seen the story of the golden-voiced homeless man whose story has gone viral, leading to gigs with the Cleveland Cavaliers and Kraft Foods as the voice of Mac n Cheese. I think this is a great, feel-good story about second chances and I sincerely hope that Ted Williams is able to make the most of this opportunity.

I have to admit that being a sarcastic and cynical guy, my first reactions were that:

1. I hope the media does not tear Mr. Williams down if he has a set-back and

2. I wonder if we’ll see homeless people at stoplights performing random office work to audition for their new gigs. I can just imagine some guy offering to do my taxes or streamline the efficiency of my workspace at the intersection.

Sorry, that’s just an honest look at how my mind works.

And after I’m done feeling somewhat guilty and somewhat amused at my own joke, I sometimes have thoughts that are actually valuable. Fortunately, today was one of those days.

I thought, “Wow, it’s great that he got a second-chance and was so honest about being accountable for his mistakes.” He said he’s convinced he’ll make it, because this time he has God. How cool is that?!

Then I was prompted, thinking – “Maybe I need to start giving more second chances instead of being such a sarcastic jerk”.

How many of us get easily annoyed with others? Be honest now.

For example, I get ticked off in traffic a lot. I’m a very frustrated driver and operate in a paranoid way – meaning I automatically think someone who cuts in front of me is selfish and was probably trying to assert their dominance by cutting me off (don’t worry, I’m in therapy).

I also tend to find fault in others more than I should. In fact, it’s more likely that I’ll notice negative things first before finding a way to focus on the positive aspects someone else brings to the table. Once I’ve made that assertion (which may or may not be based on fact), I act in a way that reinforces my opinion. I think many of us do.

So my pledge for 2011 is to look for the positive in people and to give more second chances.

I also have a challenge for you. Who do you need to offer a second chance to?

And if I’ve done something to offend you (which I tend to do), please forgive me and offer me another chance to get things right.

Happy New Year!!


Posted in: January 2011