Five Things I Hope to See in Heaven (but not too soon).

Posted on January 4, 2011

1


The classic red-and-white Etch A Sketch model

Image via Wikipedia

“Daddy, what is heaven like?” The questions come almost nightly, as my daughters try to deal with the fact that a good friend’s dog had to be put down. I explain that there is no more pain, nobody gets sick and we get to be with God and anyone else we’ve lost over the years. “Will we get to eat treats anytime we want?!?”

I sure hope so. Especially those Thin Mints my older daughter is peddling these days.

The constant questions of my children can get annoying. I know that’s kind of a jerky thing to say, but it’s honest. And if I’m going to be honest, I have to admit that a big reason that I find them annoying is because I have no idea how to answer them. Their questions challenge me. They challenge my knowledge of basic elementary school subjects, as well as my core beliefs.

While I hope that I’m setting realistic expectations of heaven, I truly don’t know what it will be like. Here’s what I hope it’s like. The following are five things I hope to see in heaven someday (but not too soon).

  1. A different person getting to paint the sunset each evening. I’m picturing people taking turns painting the sky with different colors, almost like a cosmic Etch a Sketch.
  2. A Highlight Reel. This could go a lot of different directions – the best moments of our lives, the most meaningful, the goofiest, the best sports plays we’ve ever made.
  3. The Answers. Why do bad things happen to good people? Will we learn the cures to deadly diseases like cancer could have been cured by eating chocolate chip mint ice cream while facing south on a Tuesday? Why couldn’t the crew get off of Gilligan’s Island after that fateful “three hour tour”? And why couldn’t that dude on The Bachelor pick one of the 20+ hot women who were competing to be his wife? And how did he trick them into letting him on the show again?
  4. The ability to do the things we never could on earth. For example, I want to fly, be able to dance, dunk a basketball, grow a beard, understand the opposite sex and basic elementary school subjects.
  5. What it was like when Jesus walked the earth. Even though I read about it in the Bible, I feel like only being there would truly provide context. I’m the type of guy who needs to be hit upside the head and experience something to truly get it. I’d love to see what it was like to see Jesus walk on water, Moses part the Red Sea and to be His disciple.

For now, I’ll need to be content with learning as much as I can and making sure I’m spending my time in this life as God wants me to.

What would you like to see in heaven? What do you think it will be like? I’d love to hear your ideas.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go study so I can answer the questions that will start when my children wake up!

Posted in: January 2011