Your Story Matters! How to contribute to Testimony and Tunes

Posted on September 15, 2010

2


As a musician, one of the coolest experiences I’ve ever had on stage was playing for a support and recovery service at Community Christian Church. The service is called “Celebrate the Journey” (http://www.communitychristian.org/ministries/cthej) and it started off with a large group message, followed by someone sharing their testimony. Somewhere in the service, we’d play a couple of tunes related to the main theme of the message.

Every time I showed up for soundcheck, the person who was going to share their testimony would be pacing nervously and making comments like: “I don’t know why they asked ME to do this. My story isn’t that interesting. I’m just ME”.

And without fail, their story would touch many people who were there to hear it, especially me. Afterwards, they would have a look of relief, a smile and a spring in their step that was the result of knowing that God had worked through them. And it didn’t even hurt! In fact, one night I was so touched by a woman’s story that seemed to speak directly to me, that I was literally singing through tears when it was my turn to contribute to the service.

My point is this – YOUR STORY MATTERS! Even though you may feel like you’ve got to accomplish something absolutely extraordinary to earn the right to speak, I’m here to tell you that you don’t. Author and speaker Marianne Williamson (no relation) hit the nail on the head when she said:

“You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure about you. We were born to manifest the glory of God that is within us.”

Moses was even freaked out about the prospect of speaking to the Pharoah to demand that he let the people of Isreal go free. But he did it and I’m pretty sure that guy made a positive impact regardless of his initial insecurity.

So how do you share your story on Testimony and Tunes? It’s easy and I promise that it doesn’t even hurt! You don’t have to be able to write a song (although that would also be very cool). If you need guidance to get started, please consider the following:

Send me an e-mail at bwilly7@mac.com with your story. “How do I tell my story?” you ask?

1.Start with how you became a Christian. Was there a defining moment? Or did your parents always raise you to follow Christ?
2.Give a specific example or two of times when God worked in your life. What happened? How did you and others benefit? How was that different than what would have happened in the past?
3.What advice do you have for others?

Your story can be in written form, an audio file or a video.

If you’re a musican and want to share a song or two that you’ve written, feel free to tell us how you came up with the idea for your song and what message you want us to take away from it.

If you’re not a musician and there is a popular song that embraces how you feel, let us know what that is as well.

Lastly, in your e-mail, let me know if you’d like people to know who you are and a little bit about yourself. Is there a website you’d like me to link to? Do you want people to be able to contact you directly or through Testimony and Tunes?

If you’re considering contributing but haven’t yet, please say a quick prayer and ask God for guidance. My vision is for this site to be a safe place, a community where we can all learn from each other.

Please spread the word!

God bless,

Brian (thatwillyguy)

Posted in: Uncategorized